top of page

Miracles in All Shape and Sizes

Hello my amazing family and friends, I hope you all had a wonderful week! This week was busy like usual, but filled to the brim with miracles and fun. On Tuesday we got to have our zone activity. We played soccer and after every 7 minute quarter we had trivia questions (on things we've been studying together as a zone- big one being the life of Christ) to earn extra points. It was super fun to play soccer again and to be with the whole zone :) So we have two sister companionships in Orleans now and we got to do exchanges with both of them this week. First exchange was with Soeur Welter who is about 6 months into her mission. She is so funny and so sweet. She had us laughing the whole time. The second exchange was with Soeur Tilby who has only been in France for about 3 weeks. She broke her ankle in the MTC, had to go home for 7 weeks but now is here. She's actually from Meridian, so she gave me a whole list of things I can do around there when I get home. It was so fun getting to go on these exchanges this week! So this week they (Soeur Hill and Soeur Kemp on their exchange) were able to visit with Laura, the sweet 9 year old who wants to get baptized. They got to teach her the 5 basic points of the gospel of Jesus Christ: faith, repentance, baptism, the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. We had been praying a lot that her moms heart would be softened and that she would let Laura fix a day to be baptized. Well, pray works. They were able to fix a date for Nov. 14 and Laura is pumped! And so are we :) Then later in the week, Soeur Hill and I got to go visit our other new 9 year old amie, Slorayla. It was our first lesson, so we decided to start by just talking about faith. That let us to what things we can do to grow and show our faith, including baptism. We invited her to be baptized, which she accepted. We fixed the date for Nov. 14 as well. Amazing! And then to top off this wonderful week, we got to watch General Conference. It was amazing to hear the words of the prophet and his apostles. I know that they are truly men called of God. We got to experience a cool "time stopped" miracle this weekend with it too. Sunday afternoon, on our way to church, our bus took a wrong direction and what was supposed to be a 15 min ride took closer to 40 min. Then we had a metro ride. Then another bus ride. We arrived at our final bus stop at 1:58 (conference was starting at 2) and we still had a 10 min walk (more like run) ahead of us, there was no way we would make it on time. So we said a prayer and starting running. What was supposed to be 10 min later, we got into the church and it was 1:59. Prayer works. So I realized that last week I titled my email 'Je prie mon Saveur parce que je sais qu'il vit' (I pray to my Savior because I know He lives) but I never explained it, let me explain now haha So last week I was studying prayer a lot. The reasons why we pray, how it can help us, and how God answers our prayers. And then one of the elders shared an experience from when he was in Naval Academy. He wanted to know for himself if God was really there, so he decided to pray. But in doing so, his peers saw him and started to tease him. He ignored them until he finished his prayer. They asked him mockingly what he was doing. Without hesitation he replied, "I pray to my Savior because I know He lives!" and because of the power behind his words they never bothered him again about it. In that moment he also got to see the reality of his own testimony. Cool right? So I thought I'd share. So there was my week :) I know that this is truly God's work. We are often not in our own area with exchanges and meetings, and yet we are still able to do so much. I am so grateful for God's hand in my life and for His constant guidance. And I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve so many people here. I love you all so much! Have a wonderful week :) Aver amour, Soeur Savanah Asay

Our Zone playing Soccer

Ice Cream on Exchanges


bottom of page