top of page

Le Mans: Week One

Hello all!

So here I am, sitting in a French internet cafe, surrounded by French people, in France. In case you haven't noticed, I'm pretty excited about the France part haha. The keyboards here are different, so if there's spelling errors I appologize.

So I need to catch up for the last two weeks (since we were traveling on what would have been my pday last week)! Quick big news: for our Devotional on Tuesday we had M. Russell Ballard as our speaker! So we had two members from the Quorm of the Twelve come speak to us two weeks in a row! That was amazing!! We had In-Field Orientation which was way good! And then on Saturday we had our last classes with our teachers, Soeur Waldron and Frére Pehrson. We took pictures and talked about what it would be like in the field. It was awesome, they have blessed my life so incredibly much. It was way sad when they had to leave though, I hate goodbyes.

Sunday was amazing; it was testimony meeting (I love those). We also sang "Souviens-toi" which is our zone's favorite hymn (Soeur Dionne and I cried). I also got a blessing on Sunday night (traveling stresses me out), and that was awesome. I love blessings!

Monday (the beginning of the madness) we said our last goodbyes, which so depressing. We grabbed our bags and went down to the travel office. There we got our tickets and I found out that they made me travel leader (incase something goes wrong I've got all the paperwork stuff to fix it). That was crazy stressful!! Luckily some of the elders said they would talk me through it if I ended up needing to do anything (lucky for me, everything went smoothly). Then we took a bus to a train to the airport and flew for 10 hours; that was fun!

We landed Tuesday, 11:00am (France time), and 3:00am (Utah time)! We grabbed our bags and found the Babin's: our mission President and his wife. We were given pan au chocolat (yum!) and some Book of Mormon's. We were told to start contacting on our train ride there. Like ok, that's a nice shock awake haha. There weren't very many people on the train and there were even less that were interested, so that was hard.

On Wednesday we met our trainers and found out where wer're serving! My companions name is Soeur Lusty and we are serving In the Le Mans! It was so cool to meet her! But then we had to say our goodbyes. Soeur Dionne's was the hardest and after she and I said goodbye I totally cried. Talk about embarressing, I hate crying, but man I love that sister.

Thursday & Friday: they say the best way to learn a language is immersion, but they forget to mention that drowning is a big part of that! It is so hard to keep up with everyone here, and it is so frustrating. Soeur Lusty has totally become my life raft here and I am so grateful for her! We've had some really awesome lessons with new investigators, old investigators (one couple have been investigators for a year!! I'll tell you more about them later), and new converts. They (and all the members) are so kind, they speak slowly for me and repeat things, sometimes many times so I can understand. And our new convert Laura is so sweet. After our lesson she came up to me and tomd me how worried she could see I was about the language and not to be. She talked about patience and rely on the Lord, she and I both cried as she expressed her knowledge and love of the gospel and God's timing. That was way cool! And it really helped me feel better.

Saturday & Sunday: General Conference!! I hope you were all able to watch it, if not go back and watch it now, it was amazing!

Ok, sorry that was so long! So much has happened in the last two weeks and I wish I had time to share more!! But I love you all! And i know that we have a Father in Heaven who loves us. be safe and be strong mes amis!!

Avec amour,

Soeur Asay

Soeur Lusty & Savi.jpg

Savanah and Sister Lusty eating pan au chocolat!


bottom of page